Archive | 10:22 pm

What’s In My Hope Chest?

26 May

This is my hope chest–say hello:

You cannot really tell, but my hope chest is about medium sized. It's is a cedar tree. (And I had the lid open earlier, so it's slightly open here.) I will have to post the story of how I received my hope chest and why this "box" is extra special.

2300 miles before…

I recently moved from central Texas to the Northwest. Space was limited on our 26 ft. U-Haul, as my dad had a LOT of equipment and tools to bring. I ended up bringing two boxes plus my hope chest. Thankfully, (I count this as a blessing), I had not been faithful to adding to my hope chest, so I had quite a bit of storage space for the move.

But 2300 miles later…

I opened my hope chest, took out the items that did not belong in it, and noticed how EMPTY it was! How sad, I thought. And pathetic. Of course, I have not thought much about marriage at all because first of all, I had always been strong-willed, tough, and “Miss Independent” (you know the type). And secondly, I decided that I would not date/court anyone until I could actually legally marry because I have the idea in my mind that I’ll only date my husband (and now I’m 18–uh oh!). To me, adding pillows, linens, dishware, and the like were preparing for  a marriage that I hadn’t even thought about, so I didn’t add them.

This is what I have in my Hope Chest:

–6 Identical Picture Frames

–Two Decor Plates (one from Louisiana, my home state of 12.5 years, and another from a foreign missionary in Taiwan)

–A Louisiana Spoon “Setter-On-Thing” (pictured between the two plates below)

–A Louisiana Souvenir Magnet

–A Red Decor Vase

–Two Texas Handmade Candles (and a cute candle holder)

–2 Picture Containers: 1Box (pictured on right) and 1Metal Album (not seen)

–A “Recipe Holder” (really cute!) & Recipes Inside

–Various Baking Items: Christmas cookie cutters, 3 mixing spoons, 1 curly straw(!)

–Knitting needles & Crochet needle(?)

NOT pictured below:

–Various Baby Clothes & Shoes (I had not set them aside for ME, since I was not thinking about marriage, but for others–I have four sisters!)

–A CUTE Rubber Ducky Pillow/Blanket (I made them in a “Home-Economics-type” class)

–A Silky Rose and Black/White Leopard Print Material (for sewing)

–Two Bathroom Baskets (you know, from the bath and body wash sets you get for Christmas…)

Not all of the items are pictured here, just a few...

No throwing stones!

At least I was honest about my “lack” of items. haha! All of these items either hold sentimental value for me or they actually have a functional use–or both! Like the spoon setter-on-thing. haha 🙂

How Does this Tie into “Whole Living?”

Every time I take out these items from my hope chest, my heart just swells with a sense of accomplishment and hope and joy! Even with my few items, I FEEL like I am doing something GOOD. I FEEL like I am making a better life for my future. Because of the items? No. Because of what can be done with the items: The cookie cutters, (the only thing I bought out of all I have), I bought imagining being able to spend quality time with my future nieces and nephews. (Now, as I am thinking more along the lines of ME getting married and having children, they could work well there, too.) With the plates and the vase and the custom made candles, with the recipes, I can be hospitable to others, having a comfortable home and delicious meals to offer. Does that make sense?

These items represent a WHOLE life, which I am EXCITED to be able to have in Christ.

What are some of the items in YOUR Hope Chest, and how do they give you hope for the future?

NEXT: Part 2 of The Hope Chest Series: “What Am I Adding to My Hope Chest?

And if you missed the Hope Chest Series Introduction, you can still read it!

The Hope Chest Series Introduction

26 May

I would like to introduce a 4-part series on Hope Chests, (and if you don’t know what those are, just keep reading), concentrating on how a hope chest is a great way to live naturally, frugally, and wholly in Christ.

You can look forward to:

Part 1 (Whole Living): “What’s in my Hope Chest?”–a look into my personal Hope Chest, in all its grandeur, (or rather, lack thereof, unfortunately :\).

Part 2 (Natural Living): “What am I adding to my Hope Chest?”–because once you read part 1, you’ll understand that I need to do some serious “building up.”

Part 3 (Frugal Living): What does Having a Hope Chest mean $$-wise?–looking at the fiscal benefits of having a hope chest.

Part 4 (In Christ/A Devotion): Scriptural Reasons for Having a Hope Chest–biblical references that make having a hope chest a reasonable, fun, and awesome idea.

What is a Hope Chest?

Traditionally, a hope chest is a large to medium size wooden box that a young, unmarried lady would fill up with items for her intended wedding and married home and life.

Items might include a wedding dress and shoes, pillows, blankets, pictures...all put in the hope chest in anticipation of one day being married.

Hope chests today, however, are given much more freedom to be used for whatever best fits you and the lifestyle you hope to lead in the future. For example, some young women decide that they do not want to marry, so they do not use their hope chests for wedding items. Simply put, a hope chest is a chest of items dedicated to the hope of having a future, no matter what that future may be.

A Hope Chest is for preparation, but now more than ever, hope chests can hold sentimental items, such as family Christmas ornaments and such. Some people put books in their hope chest. Some people put baby clothes. It’s your choice of the contents to be placed in it; there are NO limits or restrictions! I’ll give you a peak into my Hope Chest in Part 1 of our Hope Chest series.

**I would like to stress here that the IDEA of the hope chest is more important than actually having a wooden chest. Preparing for the future can be done, even without a box to put the contents in.**

A modern Hope Chest may look similar to this, but styles can vary.

At the same time, hope chests are not STRICTLY for the day you become married or for the day you live on your own. Some women use their contents on a regular basis, while other women prefer to accumulate and save the items for its  intended purpose only.

Are Hope Chests Just for Girls?

Once again, the TRADITIONAL answer is “Yes.” According to this article, a groom’s family provided land, property, or money in order to “win” a woman’s hand in marriage. The bride’s family then gave a dowry of the things the couple would need to begin life together, including linens, china, and other household items.

Today, however, some parents provide their sons with “hope chests” (that they don’t call hope chests) for them to put the items they would like to keep and that are special to them, as well as items that may prove useful to them in the future. Some creative parents are even using a locker for their males, instead of a wooden chest.

Final Thoughts:

If you decide to start a Hope Chest, (and I certainly hope you do by the end of this series), remember– a hope chest is about having hope more than anything else, more than the contents in the hope chest, more than the actual process of gaining the contents. More than anything, a hope chest is about HOPE.

I enjoyed reading this letter from Glenys Robyn Hicks to “handmaidens” concerning her hope chest:

…my mother and father provided a hope chest for me. We weren’t very well off, but they acquired an old writing bureau which they kept in their bedroom for me as my own room was too small. This hope chest was filled gradually with all the usual things to ensure a well stocked home with crocks and linens.

But I found this was not its primary purpose for me. It became my focus and purpose in life- reminding me of the task ahead of becoming mistress of my own home. Each time I added something to it, it filled my soul with longing for the day of marriage and hope for the future. As I worked and saved for my wedding and new home, it became my anchor. Every kitchen article was added with dreams of me cooking delicious meals for my beloved. Each towel I folded filled me with visions of them flapping on the line and I would plan how to wash them properly and keep them soft and fluffy. Fluffy enough to wrap up my new baby after its bath. For every sheet and blanket focused me on the physical side of  marriage filling my heart with the promise of children conceived in love. As I added to my picnic ware, my mind would race imagining flying kites, feeding the ducks by the pond and country drives with my husband and children ..life held great promise for me in that hope chest…and although mine was not a true hope chest- it was full of hope.

I certainly wish you  to join me on this series! Please feel free to comment and discuss, as much as you like! 🙂

A Song to Remember

26 May

I always forget how many days are in each month, and I can NEVER remember the song that helps you remember…(I know, we’re supposed to learn this in 1st grade, if not Kindergarten, but I ALWAYS forget.)

In case you have this problem, too, I have written the song here for you to look back on and *cough cough* for me to look back on, too. Knowing how many days are in each month REALLY comes in handy for planning and organizing things!

30 days hath September, April, June, and November. All the rest have 31, though February is underdone with 28, hold the line, leap year makes it 29.